FHSAA Honors Schools for Sportsmanship


FHSAA Honors Schools for Sportsmanship

In recognition of the vital role good sportsmanship plays in shaping today’s student-athletes, the Florida High School Athletic Association (FHSAA) today announced the recipients of this year’s Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards. The award honors schools whose athletic teams demonstrated exemplary sportsmanship during the 2012-2013 regular season and FHSAA State Series. This year, 20 high schools and three middle schools received the prestigious award.

“This is a special award for our member schools, honoring those who truly do things the right way,” said FHSAA Executive Director Dr. Roger Dearing. “Sportsmanship is the most important value we can install in our young student-athletes, and the schools we honor today have demonstrated a deep commitment to integrity and the spirit of fair play.”

The award, presented annually since 1991, is named in honor of FHSAA Commissioner Emeritus Fred E. Rozelle. It is presented to one school in each classification whose total sports program best exemplifies the qualities of sportsmanship as demonstrated by its coaches, players and spectators. Criteria for selection of the winners includes programs and activities implemented within the school and community to promote sportsmanship; the number and type of unsportsmanlike ejections; the number and type of exceptional sportsmanship reports; and the source of the nomination.

Section winners will each receive $500 and a commemorative plaque. Each overall winner will receive an additional $2,500 and a larger plaque.

The schools receiving the FHSAA/Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards for outstanding sportsmanship in 2012-2013 are:


High Schools – 1A

Section 1 – Cedar Key

Section 2 – The Villages Charter

Overall Winner – Cedar Key


High Schools – 2A

Section 1 – Munroe (Quincy)

Section 2 – Merritt Island Christian

Section 3 – Master’s Academy of Vero Beach

Section 4 – Miami Christian

Overall Winner – Miami Christian


High Schools -3A

Section 2 – Lake Mary Preparatory School

Section 3 – Shorecrest Preparatory School  (St. Petersburg)

Overall Winner – Lake Mary Preparatory School


High Schools – 4A

Section 2 – Cocoa

Section 3 – Dunbar (Fort Myers)

Overall Winner – Cocoa


High Schools – 5A

Section 2 – Lake Nona (Orlando)

Section 3 – North Fort Myers

Overall Winner – North Fort Myers


High Schools – 6A

Section 2 – Sunlake (Land O’ Lakes)

Section 3 – Fort Myers

Overall Winner – Sunlake (Land O’ Lakes)


High Schools – 7A

Section 1 – First Coast (Jacksonville)

Section 2 – Viera

Section 3 – Braden River (Bradenton)

Overall Winner – Braden River (Bradenton)


High Schools – 8A

Section 1 – Mandarin (Jacksonville)

Section 3 – Riverview (Sarasota)

Section 4 – Ferguson (Miami)

Overall Winner – Ferguson (Miami)


Middle Schools

Section 1 – Grand Ridge Middle

Section 2 – Fox Chapel Middle (Spring Hill)

Section 4 – St. Mark’s Middle (Fort Lauderdale)

Overall Winner – Grand Ridge Middle


About the FHSAA
The Florida High School Athletic Association is the governing body for interscholastic athletic competition in Florida. It has a membership of almost 800 middle, junior and senior high schools.